About ACC

About Alvin Community College

The Alvin Community College District includes 421.8 square miles and covers approximately the eastern third of Brazoria County. Major transportation corridors are: 288 corridor, Highway 6, running WNW (toward San Antonio) and ESE (toward Texas City); and Highway 35, running north to Houston and south toward Angleton and Freeport. A significant geographical feature is Chocolate Bayou, which runs nearly the length of the District. Major cities within the district service area are Alvin, Danbury, Manvel, and Pearland, Texas.

Brazoria County is a Gulf Coast county, the seat of which is located in Angleton. Geographically, the area is a coastal plain, which is interlaced with numerous lakes, rivers, and bayous. The county’s economy rests on agriculture, healthcare, oil and gas production, and petrochemical manufacturing.

There are 16 buildings on the main campus of Alvin Community College. It is situated on 114 acres of land between Hwy 35 Bypass and Mustang Road in Alvin.

Degrees Granted

  • Associate of Arts
  • Associate of Science
  • Associate of Applied Science
  • Associate of Arts in Teaching

Certificates Granted

  • Certificate One – Less than one‐year Programs
  • Certificate Two – One‐year Programs
  • Certificate Three – Enhanced Skills Programs


  • Arts and Sciences
  • General Education and Academic Support
  • Legal and Health Sciences
  • Professional, Technical, and Human Performance
  • Continuing Education


  • ACEN Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing
  • AACRAO American Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers
  • American Association of Community Colleges
  • Association of Community College Trustees
  • Association of Higher Education and Disabilities
  • Association of Title IX Administrators
  • CAAHEP Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs
  • CoAEMSP Committee on Accreditation of Educational Programs for the EMS
  • CoARC Commission on Accreditation for Respiratory Care
  • CoA‐NDT Committee on Accreditation for Neurodiagnostic Technology
  • CoA‐PSG Committee on Accreditation for Polysomnographic Technology
  • Ellucian ‐ Texas State Reporting Solutions Team
  • FCC Federal Communications Commission
  • Gulf Coast Intercollegiate Honors Council
  • JBCC ‐ Judicial Branch Certification Commission
  • JRC‐DMS Joint Review Committee for Diagnostic Medical Sonography
  • NAPTA North America Process Technology Alliance
  • NASFAA National Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators
  • NAFSA: Association of International Educators
  • National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development
  • National Junior College Athletic Association
  • NCRC National Certification Reciprocity Consortium
  • Region XIV Athletic Conference
  • TAP Texas Addiction Professional
  • TBON Texas Board of Nursing
  • TCOLE Texas Commission on Law Enforcement
  • Texas Association Against Sexual Assault
  • Texas Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers (TACRAO)
  • Texas Association of Collegiate Veteran Program Officials
  • Texas Association of Community Colleges
  • Texas Community College Teachers Association
  • Texas Counseling Association
  • Texas Department of Family & Protective Services (License)
  • Texas State Department of Health Services
  • TSSB Texas Skills Standards Board